This Man is Smiling Broadly and Brightly

Orlando Harris’s first impression of Eastman Dental wasn’t a positive one, but then it quickly changed.

He was used to a private room at his previous dentist in New York City, so when he first came to Eastman Dental for a routine appointment, he was immediately nervous and uncomfortable with the open environment of the clinic.

Right away, AEGD resident Bhumija Gupta, DDS, sensed his anxiety.

“I would have left, but she asked me what she could do to make it work,” Harris recalled.  As luck would have it, a private room became available right then.

“And she’s done that ever since, meaning she’s put me first and adding that personal touch,” said Harris, a nurse practitioner with the Monroe County Health Department and PhD student with the School of Nursing at the University of Rochester Medical Center.  “She personally comes to get me from the waiting room. She knows the sound of the dental equipment makes me nervous, so she finds music on her iPhone for me to listen to.  On another occasion, she saw me at 6 p.m., on the very same day she drove back from Canada after taking her Boards. I am continually impressed by her level of commitment and to the extent she puts her patients first.”

At one point, Harris was delinquent on his routine cleaning.  “She called me and offered to clear her schedule so she could do the cleaning and I wouldn’t have to wait,” he said. “I thought that was really sweet of her.”

When Harris first heard that the space between his front teeth could be closed, he was very excited.

“First, we did a mock up to give him a preview of the final appearance,” Gupta explained.  “Once he liked it, we whitened his teeth in the office, and gave him a kit to continue bleaching at home.”

After a satisfactory color was achieved, Gupta began the gap closure procedure.  “I used a composite restorative material in increments, then polished and finished it.”

“I love my new smile,” Harris said.

This entry was posted in Eastman Institute for Oral Health. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This Man is Smiling Broadly and Brightly

  1. Anonymous says:

    That is a great change

Leave a Reply

